Geoffrey S. Sewell, MD, FACP

President and Executive Medical Director, Hawaii Permanente Medical Group, Inc.; Chairman, National Permanente Executive Committee, The Permanente Federation, LLC

Photo of Geoff Sewell, MD

Geoffrey S. Sewell, MD, FACP, serves as president and executive medical director of the Hawaii Permanente Medical Group, Inc., chairman of the National Permanente Executive Committee, The Permanente Federation, LLC, and co-chair of the Kaiser Permanente Program Group.

NPEC is the executive leadership team of The Permanente Federation, which supports the work of more than 21,000 physicians and 80,000 care providers and administrative staff employed across the Permanente Medical Groups — providing quality care to Kaiser Permanente members. Kaiser Permanente is composed of the Permanente Medical Groups, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc., and Kaiser Foundation Hospitals.

HPMG is the largest multispecialty medical group in the state of Hawaii. It consists of physicians and providers who care for the Hawaii Region’s Kaiser Permanente members.

Prior to his election as HPMG president and executive medical director in July 2007, Dr. Sewell served as a hospitalist and chiefs to both the Departments of Continuing Care (2001-2004) and Hospital Specialties (2005-2006) at Kaiser Permanente’s Moanalua Medical Center.

Dr. Sewell earned his medical degree from the University of California, San Diego School of Medicine. He completed his residency and chief residency at Legacy Good Samaritan and Emanuel Hospitals in Portland, Oregon, where he was the associate program director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program and program director of Transitional Residency Programs. Dr. Sewell was named medical director for the Legacy Health System, where he was responsible for a full range of ambulatory and chronic care services, including the Legacy Clinics.

Dr. Sewell is board certified in internal medicine and is a fellow of the American College of Physicians. He serves as a board member of the Hawaii Health Information Corporation and the Hawaii Youth Symphony.